Why You’re Missing Out On Real Life If Your Phone Is Your BFF

Standard

I’m a communications major, and in one of my classes, we’ve been talking a lot about how technology is destroying our society. While this information is incredibly depressing, it’s also the truth, and many people are ignorant of it.

A major issue in society is the constant use of smart phones. We are always taking pictures for Instagram or Snapchat, we’re always updating our Facebook statuses, we’re always texting….you get the point; we are attached to our cell phones. And while you may be using your phone to talk to your friends, in reality, it’s like your phone is your friend, not the people you’re texting with.

Think about how much time your eyes spend being glued to your phone. I will fully admit that I am one of the humans of this generation who has an attachment to my iPhone, and I can tell you that sometimes I get distracted because I feel the need to check my messages all the time. This is bad!! It takes you away from reality and essentially into a virtual world.

When you’re out with a friend, and you’re texting a different friend, it’s almost like you’re not really there. Make a pact with your friends to keep your cell phones put away when hanging out, and I bet you’ll feel a whole lot different; you’ll actually be able to give each other your full attention…whoa, what a concept!

If you’re out to dinner with your family and you Instagram your plate of food, or even worse, a selfie with your plate of food, then I just “literally can’t even”. Who gives a crap what your dinner looks like? Who is that going to benefit? Do you feel good posting pretty pictures of your meals? Unless you’re a professional photographer, then gtfo please. Put the phone away and enjoy your food with your family.

Okay, let’s talk more about selfies for a second. Again, I will admit to being a part of this, so I’m not trying to be a hypocrite. But I definitely make sure I don’t overdo the selfies. Some people take selfies EVERYWHERE. Like just stop now please. Again, if you’re with people, and you’re getting distracted by your phone because you want to take the perfect selfie and have to retake it 15 times, then you need to re-prioritize. Instead of focusing on perfecting your selfie, put your phone away and enjoy whatever activity you are doing.

My phone actually sometimes drives me crazy. Sometimes when I’m texting several people at once, I get annoyed and don’t feel like answering anymore, but a part of me feels like I have to or else I come off as a rude person. This is what society has come to. Imagine a time without all this technology…I bet people actually communicated in person 24/7! (So weird, right?!)

Communication is important in our world. It’s a necessary thing in order to connect to one another. Real life connections are crucial because they allow for a more positive environment. Think about the different ways people communicate through text. We think it’s easier to say certain things through text, and while this may be true for certain circumstances, it’s also very false. Take a breakup, for example. Now, do you really think it’s okay to break up with someone through text message? From personal experience, I can say that, no, it’s not okay. This is because text messages don’t allow us to see facial expressions or hear a tone of voice, so we misconstrue things. We might think the person is speaking in an angry tone of voice but, in reality, they could just be trying to send you texts in a calm manner.

Long story short: face to face communication is the best and we have to make sure that we don’t lose that. So try to limit the time you spend on your phone, especially when you are around other people. Let’s turn this society around!

P.S. I just realized that this was totally a blog post of me ranting but that’s okay, I hope you enjoyed it!

Quote Of The Day:

Leave a Reply

