The Definition Of A “True” Friend

Standard

There is a huge difference between a friend, and a “true” friend. A friend is someone you enjoy spending time with and chatting with from time to time. A friend is someone who comes and goes out of your life so easily and unexpectedly. But a true friend is someone who is there for you no matter what, picks you up when you’re down, gives you life advice, and never leaves your side. It’s sometimes difficult to find your true friends. Hell, it can take years and years to find out who your true friends are. But once you do figure it out, you’ll feel more grateful and lucky than ever before.

I’ve lost and gained many friends over the years, and I have learned a lot about life from those experiences. I’ve learned that some people are only your friends because they have no one else. I’ve learned that some people are only your friends because they need people to hang out with. I’ve learned that some people are only your friends because they need someone to listen to them, even though they don’t reciprocate. Through failed times, I’ve learned that friendship is a two-way street. If you are the only person putting your heart into a friendship, then that person is not a true friend. You need to find out which friends are worth it, and which friends are not.

The most satisfying feeling is being in a friendship where you are equally there for each other through every little thing. You might get into fights at times, but your ability to get through the rough patches can prove how amazing a friendship can be. I know for a fact that I’ve gotten into serious tiffs with some of my friends, and the ones who were still there afterwards are the ones I appreciate the most.

I am incredibly grateful for all of my true friends. I would be so lost without them in my life because they’re the ones with the best advice, the ones who know how to make me laugh when I’m feeling down, and the ones with hearts big enough to cover all the planets in the solar system (and Pluto!). I look back on all the friends I’ve let go of in the past and I smile, because I realize that those people only entered my life to show me I deserve better. And the friends I have now make me feel like I have the best people I have ever had in my life, and I am more than lucky because of that.

Quote of the day:

tumblr_m5j37aWt9L1qjm9bpo1_500_large

Leave a Reply

