The power of a smile

Standard

They say that both frowns and smiles are contagious, so why not choose the latter to spread around? No matter what problems you’re going through, there’s no point in walking around slumped over, face heavy with doubt, sighing with every step you take. Imagine if everyone did that each time a bad day popped up. We would turn into a species of secondhand zombies while the gorillas, our earlier counterparts, would prance around with more personality than us. Now, I haven’t seen Planet of the Apes but I’m pretty sure that if they were happier than us, they would take over the world, and who wants that? 

All gorilla dictatorship jokes aside (surprisingly frightening concept though), think clearly about what you do when you have a bad day. I admittedly have my own fair share of bad days, but that’s because I’m only human. Humans are flawed and are expected to have imperfect days. If we were supposed to be happy all the time, we would be replicas of Barbie and Ken. But with this in mind, it’s important to realize that if you handle a tough day with a different perspective, you’ll see the light at the end of the tunnel much sooner than expected. 

Let me explain to you how I like to handle a day that just isn’t going so well. I usually spend about fifteen minutes or so (sometimes a bit more) wallowing over everything that has gone wrong so far, but then I metaphorically slap myself and say “Stop!” Don’t worry, it’s not as violent as it sounds. I basically tell myself that it’s just a bad day, not a bad life (you may or may not have heard this in quote form before). I pick at least one positive thing that has happened recently, and put all of my focus on that. I then proceed to make myself put on a big smile, especially if I go out in public. Now some may say this is acting fake happy and it’s a terrible thing to do. I of all people, would never want to act fake or pretend to be something I am not. My biggest pet peeve is when people act fake. Smiling when you don’t feel like smiling isn’t necessarily acting fake, it’s more so becoming a stronger, more positive person. Plus, it has actually been proven to make a person feel better. By smiling, you’re essentially lifting everything up on your face, which somehow just makes you feel good (Don’t ask me how, I’m not a scientist…or psychologist….whoever studies this type of stuff). 

I may not be a psychologist, but I am a communications major, and I’ve studied a lot about nonverbal communication between humans. You know how babies imitate what other people do? Well, think of us all as giant walking babies who pick up the vibes that each person is sending off. Everyone knows that if you smile at someone, he or she will smile right back at you (unless they’re an asshole), so why not just smile at everyone you see? Maybe someone else is having a terrible day and all they need is a reassuring smile from another human. Imagine making someone’s day better just by that simple action! Wouldn’t you feel incredible about that? So the next time you walk out of your house with a frown on your face, be sure to go back inside, tell yourself to snap out of it, then walk back out with a giant smile. You’ll thank yourself at the end of the day :). 

Quote of the day:

Your-Smile

Leave a Reply

